top of page
Black Blue Cab.png

New Releases: Permafrost | Permafrost EP

Released in 2019 on vinyl only, the EP is now available digitally, including a bonus track.

Norwegian-UK outfit Permafrost has released their sophomore 'Permafrost' EP digitally for the first time, including a previously unreleased mix. This four-track offering is available on all platforms as of October 15th, released on their own Fear of Music label with distribution by Secretly Noord.

Two years since its vinyl-only release, they now bring you the digital release of the ‘Permafrost’ EP, including the never-before-released Japanese Mix of ‘Sugarcubes’, featuring backing vocals by Tsugumi Takashi and Yoko Sawai.

Recorded at The Overlook, Braund Studios in Brooklyn and produced by Permafrost, this EP was mixed by Erik Braund (Mac DeMarco, A Place To Bury Strangers, Beach Fossils) and Shane O’Connel, and mastered by Paul Corkett (The Cure, Placebo, Sleeper, Strangelove).

Permafrost was formed in 1982 in Molde, Norway by school friends Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu during the first post-punk era. Robert Heggdal and Trond Tornes joined in 2001, the group finally rounded out with the addition of London-based keyboardist Daryl Bamonte in 2016. They take their name from a song by Magazine with other notable influences being Joy Division, The Cure, Talking Heads, Pere Ubu, Yello, Fad Gadget, The Residents, Wire and Wolfgang Press.

Debuting with the ‘Godtment’ EP in 1983, released as a limited edition of 50 numbered cassettes, Permafrost issued their sophomore offering - the ‘Permafrost’ EP, a vinyl-only release, to high praise in 2019.

2021 brought a trio of critically acclaimed singles via Fear of Music label - 'Femme Fatale', 'Closed Eyes' and ‘Restore Us’, the latest offering from September featuring remixes by MAPS (a.k.a. UK producer James Chapman) and Paul Corkett. All three singles reached #1 on the Indie Disko Top40 Chart and Top 5 on the Deutsche Alternative Chart, the latter also reaching #1 on the Native25 Chart, in addition to significant press and radio play on six continents.

The 'Permafrost' EP is out now everywhere online. It can also be ordered directly from the band via Bandcamp. A limited number of copies are also still available on 12" vinyl while they last.


1. Sugarcubes

2. Kingdom

3. Lifetime Commitment

4. Sugarcubes – Japanese Mix

Like, share, comment!

0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo


bottom of page